Ronald Watts Young Researcher Award

The International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS) inaugurated in 2014 the Young Scholar Award, an annual award for the best unpublished article or paper on an aspect of federalism. In honour of Ronald L. Watts, the award has been renamed after him.


  • Only young researchers, attached or associated with an IACFS member centre, are eligible. They include full-time researchers, masters to doctoral and post-doctoral students. The age limit is 35 years at the time of nomination.
  • Young researchers are invited to submit a journal-length article (8 000 - 10 000 words) on a topic dealing with an aspect of federalism. The topic needs not be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference.
  • The paper must be an original work but it may have already been submitted for publication.
  • The paper must be written in English.


  • A young researcher submits an entry to the director of his or her centre.
  • Each centre may nominate up to three candidates.
  • Nominations and papers must be submitted to secretary/treasurer no later than 31 May of each year.


  • The award comprises a return flight ticket to the IACFS annual conference, plus three days’ accommodation and a certificate.
  • The award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the IACFS conference.

Previous awards


The IACFS Young Researcher Award for 2015 was award to Dr Marc Sanjaume (Ph D Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Catalonia), a post doc student at CREQC, University of Quebec at Montreal, for the paper “Reconciling liberal democracy, nationalism and political divorce in federalizing contexts”.

He presented his paper to great acclaim at the IACFS Annual Conference held in Montreal, Canada, on 3 October 2015.

Share |