## Ronald L. Watts Young Researcher Award

In 2014, the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS) established the Young Scholar Award, an annual prize for the best article or paper on an aspect of federalism by a young researcher. In 2015, this award was renamed in honor of Ronald L. Watts.

## Eligibility

Only researchers endorsed and nominated by an IACFS member centre are eligible. This includes full-time researchers, master's, doctoral, and postdoctoral students, as well as former students. The age limit is 35 years at the time of submitting the application.

Applicants are invited to submit a journal-length article (8,000 – 10,000 words) on a topic related to an aspect of federalism. The topic does not need to be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference. The paper must be an original work and written in English. It may have already been submitted for publication or published within the past twelve months preceding the submission.

## **Process**

The applicant submits their paper to the director of an IACFS member centre, who may nominate up to three candidates. The director then submits the nominations and papers via email to ronaldwattsaward@eurac.edu by 30 April 2025.

## **Award**

For 2025, the award comprises a return flight to the IACFS annual conference in Mexico City, Mexico, in September 2025, plus three nights of accommodation, and a certificate. The award winner will be invited to present their paper at the conference.

For further information and queries, please visit <a href="www.iacfs.org">www.iacfs.org</a> and contact Professor Eva Maria Belser (<a href="evamaria.belser@unifr.ch">evamaria.belser@unifr.ch</a>) or <a href="mailto:ronaldwattsaward@eurac.edu">ronaldwattsaward@eurac.edu</a>.

Argentina Institute of Federalism of the National Academy of Law and Social Sciences of Cordoba (University of Cordoba) | Australia Australian Centre for Federalism (Australian National University, Canberra) | Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies (University of Melbourne) | John Curtin Institute of Public Policy (Curtin University, Perth) | Austria Institut für Föderalismus (University of Innsbruck) | Belgium Research Group for Government and Law (University of Antwerp) | Brazil Brazilian Center for Constitutional Studies in Federalism and State Law (ConState Center, Recife) | Canada Canada Research Chair in Quebec and Canadian Studies/Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur la diversité au Québec (CRIDAQ) (Université du Québec à Montréal) | Centre on Governance (University of Ottawa) | Institute of Intergovernmental Relations (Queen's University) | Ethiopia Centre for Federal Studies (Addis Ababa University) | France Centre International de Formation Européenne (CIFE) | Germany Deutsches Institut für Föderalismusforschung/German Institute for Federal Studies (University of Hanover) | Europäisches Zentrum für Föderalismusforschung (EZFF)/European Centre for Research on Federalism (ECRF) (Eberhard Karls University Tübingen) | German Research Institute for Public Administration (GRIP) (German University of Administrative Sciences of Speyer) | Institute of Public Finance and Public Management (Universität Leipzig) | India Centre for Federal Studies (CFS) (Hamdard University) | Centre of Multilevel Federalism (CMF) (Institute of Social Sciences) | Italy Associazione Osservatorio sul Federalismo e i Processi di Governo | Centro Interuniversitario di Finanze Regionale e Locale (CIFREL) (Catholic University of Milan) | Institute for Comparative Federalism (Eurac Research, Bolzano/Bozen) | Istituto di Studi sui Sistemi Regionali Federali e sulle Autonomie 'Massimo Severo Giannini' | Mexico Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas (UNAM Mexico) | Nigeria Institute of Governance and Social Research (IGSR) | Russia Institute of Economics and Industrial Engineering/Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences/Siberian International Centre for Regional Studies (SICRS) | South Africa Dullah Omar Institute for Constitutional Law, Governance and Human Rights (University of the Western Cape) | Spain Institut d'Estudis de l'Autogovern | Ituna Center for Basque Economic Agreement and Fiscal Federalism Studies (University of the Basque Country) | Manuel Giménez Abad Foundation (FMGA) | Switzerland Institut für Föderalismus/Institut du Fédéralisme/Institute of Federalism (University of Fribourg) | United Kingdom Edinburgh Centre for Constitutional Law (University of Edinburgh) | Research Group on Federalism and Conflict Resolution (Canterbury Christ Church University) | United States Center for State Constitutional Studies (Rutgers University) | Center for the Study of Federalism at the Robert B. & Helen S. Meyner Center for the Study of State and Local Government, Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis (Lafayette College)