Ronald Watts Young Researcher Award

In 2014, the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS) inaugurated the Young Scholar Award, an annual award for the best unpublished article or paper on an aspect of federalism. In 2015, this award was renamed in honour of Ronald L. Watts.


Only young researchers, attached or associated with an IACFS member centre are eligible. They include full-time researchers, masters, doctoral and post-doctoral students. Former students of a centre may also apply as long as there is a demonstrable association with the member centre. The age limit is 35 years old at the time of tabling the application.

Young researchers are invited to submit a journal-length article (8 000 - 10 000 words) on a topic dealing with an aspect of federalism. The topic does not need to be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference. The paper must be an original work. It may have already been submitted for publication but not published. The paper must be written in English.


  • A young researcher submits an entry to the director of his or her centre.
  • Each centre may nominate up to three candidates.


  • The award comprises a return flight ticket to the IACFS annual conference, plus three days’ accommodation and a certificate.
  • The award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the IACFS conference.

Previous awards


The IACFS Young Researcher Award for 2015 was award to Dr Marc Sanjaume (Ph D Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Catalonia), a post doc student at CREQC, University of Quebec at Montreal, for the paper “Reconciling liberal democracy, nationalism and political divorce in federalizing contexts”.

He presented his paper to great acclaim at the IACFS Annual Conference held in Montreal, Canada, on 3 October 2015.

© 2019 International Association of Centers for Federal Studies
Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions