Ronald L. Watts Young Researcher Award 2023

In 2014, the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS) inaugurated the Young Scholar Award, an annual award for the best unpublished article or paper on an aspect of federalism. In 2015, this award was renamed in honor of Ronald L. Watts.


Only young researchers attached or associated with an IACFS member center are eligible. They include full-time researchers, masters, doctoral and post-doctoral students. Former students of a center may also apply as long as there is a demonstrable association with the member center. The age limit is 35 years old at the time of tabling the application.

Young researchers are invited to submit a journal-length article (8 000 - 10 000 words) on a topic dealing with an aspect of federalism. The topic does not need to be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference. The paper must be an original work. It may have already been submitted for publication but not published. The paper must be written in English.


A young researcher submits his/her work to the director of the center and each center may nominate up to three candidates. Nominations and papers must be submitted to no later than 31 July 2023.


For 2023, the award comprises a return flight ticket to the IACFS annual conference in Philadelphia, USA in October 2023, plus three days’ accommodation and a certificate. The award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the IACFS conference.


For further information and queries, please visit and contact Professor Eva Maria Belser ( or

© International Association of Centers for Federal Studies
Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions