Ronald L. Watts Young Researcher Award 2024 - Entries Now Open

In 2014, the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS) inaugurated the Young Scholar Award, an annual award for the best unpublished article or paper on an aspect of federalism. In 2015, this award was renamed in honor of Ronald L. Watts.


Only young researchers endorsed and nominated by an IACFS member centre are eligible. They include full-time researchers, masters, doctoral and post-doctoral students, as well as former students. The age limit is 35 years old at the time of tabling the application.

Young researchers are invited to submit a journal-length article (8 000 - 10 000 words) on a topic dealing with an aspect of federalism. The topic does not need to be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference. The paper must be an original work and written in English. It may have already been submitted for publication but not published.


A young researcher submits his/her work to the director of the centre and each center may nominate up to three candidates. Nominations and papers must be submitted to no later than 30 April 2024.


For 2024, the award comprises a return flight ticket to the IACFS annual conference in Antwerp, Belgium in September 2024, plus three days’ accommodation and a certificate. The award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the IACFS conference.

For further information and queries, please visit and contact Professor Eva Maria Belser ( or

© International Association of Centers for Federal Studies
Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions